A Bit About Me

Welcome!

Before we begin, let me introduce myself. I have been where you are at now. I have endured poverty, abuse, disappointment, depression, obesity, unemployment, and divorce. I have raised a family, struggled with finances and relationship issues. I have been poor and middle class. I have been homeless. I have endured the suicide of a parent, illness, bankruptcy and any number of other crisis and set backs in my life–even a failed business venture. To put it simply, I have lived. Clarissa Pinkola Estes, a consummate story teller and author of “Women Who Run With the Wolves: wrote: “The peaks and valleys just are.”
I am 60 years young. I have been CEO of two corporations and owned and operated a boutique. I am also a published author. I have spent most of my adult life working for and volunteering in non-profit ventures as a Public Relations Manager. I mentor women who want a better life because I have been where they are at. My own personal experiences have given me an insight that can help others. It is my turn to give back.

My glass has always been half full. I guess you could call me an optimist. We only have two options: to live or to die. It is not that we live, it is how we live our lives that matters. It isn’t what we get in life, it is what we give back–what lives we touch for the better–what burdens we lift from our fellow man/woman. There lies the joy! Whether it is loving and nurturing our children or lending an ear to our neighbor in their time of need–our real happiness is not how many toys we collect, but the happiness we create for others.

I am confident that most of you want to start a new life. You are tired of doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. Yet, you only get the same old thing. That is the definition of insanity! To coin an old cliche, “Today is the first day of the rest of your life!” Make a change! Discard the old useless thoughts and feelings in your life so you have room for new, exciting, and joyous winds that can blow across your life as you journey to a new you.

~ by womenstudycenter on October 29, 2008.

Leave a comment